Blue Flag Iris Iris hexagona

There are five native species of Iris found in Florida.  There include I. pseudoacorus, I. hexagona, I. tridentata, I. virginica, and I. verna.  All, except I. verna, are found in wetlands.  Blue Flag is a common name that seems to refer to any of the species.  Although, Dixie Iris and Prairie Iris are sometimes used for the I. hexagona species.  I. hexagona has the largest distribution in Florida, ranging from Collier County north to Holmes County in northwest Florida and Nassau County in northeast Florida.

This plant is a herbaceous perennial with flat sword-like leaves up to four feet in length and one inch wide.  The flowers have three erect purple sepals and three larger purple petals with a yellow blotch near the base.  It can be up to four feet tall.  They bloom in the spring and summer.

The images on this page were taken at the Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary in Collier County in March, 2004.  

The distribution maps for the Blue Flag Iris are from the Plants Database of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA).

Copyright 2000-2015 by Thomas Zinneman.  All rights reserved.